The Queen's College was founded in 1341 by Robert de Eglesfield, chaplain to Edward III’s consort, Philippa of Hainault. Eglesfield commended the patronage to her, and the College came to be called Queen's. The patron has always been the Queen Consort, never a Queen Regnant. A true patroness, Philippa persuaded her husband to make the College the perpetual warden of St. Julian's Hospital (also known as God’s House) in Southampton. This gave the College extensive estates in and around that city. The College also has a longstanding association with the north-west of England, especially the historic counties of Cumberland and Westmorland, from which it drew many of its students and fellows over the centuries.
From the late seventeenth century the College’s medieval buildings were demolished and a comprehensive rebuilding project was implemented, making Queen’s unique amongst the older Oxford colleges as built entirely in one style. Famous members of the College have allegedly included Henry V, but certainly also John Wyclif, Jeremy Bentham, and Rowan Atkinson.
The Archive only holds records created by, or illustrative of, the College. There is a great deal of records relating to the College estates, some dating back before the College was founded in 1341. Any personal papers of College members held by the College are in the College Library.
The Reading Room is open to the public by appointment with the Archivist. Please give as much notice as possible as space is limited and not all times or days are possible. The Archivist aims to reply to all enquiries (preferably by letter or e-mail) as soon as possible, but it can take up to two weeks depending on the complexity of the enquiry. The College charges no fees for access.
Archivist: Dr Amy Ebrey
Opening hours: By appointment only
Address: The Queen's College, Oxford, OX1 4AW
Phone: 01865 279118
E-mail: archive@queens.ox.ac.uk
Web: www.queens.ox.ac.uk/library-and-your-studies/the-college-archive/
Further Reading:
- J R Magrath, The Queen's College (Oxford, 1921)
- R H Hodgkin, Six Centuries of an Oxford College (Oxford, 1949)